India bat first against New Zealand


Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat in the second Test in Kolkata on Friday against New Zealand, whose captain Kane Williamson was ruled out with illness.

The hosts, who lead the three-match series 1-0, have included Shikhar Dahwan in the playing XI in place of the injured Lokesh Rahul.

India have also added Bhuvneshwar Kumar in place of Umesh Yadav at Kolkata’s iconic Eden Gardens, which is hosting the country’s 250th home Test.

Ross Taylor will captain New Zealand in the absence of Williamson, whose absence with a viral illness is a blow to their chances of levelling the series.

The tourists made three changes to their side after Monday’s loss in Kanpur, bringing in left-handed batsman Henry Nicholls, medium-pacer Matt Henry and off-spinner Jeetan Patel.


India: Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (captain), Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Luke Ronchi, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Santner, Jeetan Patel, Matt Henry, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG) and Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: CK Nandan (IND)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Reserve umpire: Nitin Menon (IND)

© 2016 AFP

Article source: