West Indies elect to bowl against Sri Lanka


The West Indies won the toss and elected to bowl first in Wednesday?s one-day international against Sri Lanka as the two sides eye qualification for the triangular series final.

The sides went into the match at Queens Sports Club with seven points, above hosts Zimbabwe on four points, knowing that victory would assure either of them a place in Sunday?s final regardless of the outcome of Zimbabwe?s final game against West Indies on Friday.

The West Indies named the same side that drew with Zimbabwe in dramatic fashion on Saturday.

All-rounder Shehan Jayasuriya and seamer Nuwan Pradeep, who were left out by Sri Lanka for Monday?s washed out game against Zimbabwe, return to the side.


Sri Lanka: Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Shehan Jayasuriya, Asela Gunaratne, Sachith Pathirana, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep.

West Indies: Johnson Charles, Kraigg Brathwaite, Evin Lewis, Jonathan Carter, Shai Hope, Rovman Powell, Carlos Brathwaite, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Sulieman Benn, Shannon Gabriel.

© 2016 AFP

Article source: